Perception not always reality


Perception tends to be reality. Whether that is in the way you view someone or something. But how we perceive something to be is often times like looking at a shadow. Sometimes a shadow is a clear depiction of the real object. Sometimes a shadow can show the outline of a monster when it’s really a mouse depending on where the light shines from. The point being that sometimes what we see does not match up with what is. But why do we as humans, as friends, and family often times seem one way but are truly another? Why do believers fall into this trap?

It’s compelling when you really look at it. The concept of people not always being true to themselves and who they are. It is seen everyday in schools across the nation today. Kids are wearing things and saying things just for the benefit of social acceptance. It is what drives many of us. Whether we know it or not. “We get so much in the habit of wearing disguises before others that we finally appear disguised before ourselves.” French author Francois de la Rochelfoucauld. How many times have you really looked at yourself and evaluated if whether you were being true to yourself and who God created you to be?

I find myself in this situation and maybe you can relate: I am around person X and I find myself acting one way and saying these things and then I am with person Y and my persona is different as is my conversation. Why and is it wrong? There is a certain level of natural adaptation, I believe, that humans posses that allows themselves to feel comfortable in different environments. It’s natural. The problem with most people, myself as well, is that people compromise who they are. This is when “wearing masks” becomes a problem. This is when the person loses sight of who he/she truly is and who God has called them to be.

Compromise-the acceptance of standards that are lower than desirable. I think our problem is that we are honestly ignorant. Maybe I speak for myself. I know the reason I struggle with compromise is because I have failed to set high standards, lack a high degree of integrity, and honestly lose sight of who God has called me to be. It is extremely easy to compromise. It requires no effort at all. That is why we often times do that. That is why it feels so natural to act one way around one group around friends and a completely different way around another. But that should not be our standard. As a follower of Christ I truly understand that I have been called to a higher standard but like Peter I tend to take my eyes of Christ and begin to sink.

I want to encourage you to find who you are truly called to be. But I also hope that everyone can begin to shed the masks they wear and truly be who they are.I am tired of wearing masks and even feeling at times that I have to wear masks. I pray that I can drop the different identities I own and lose myself in Christ. There is no need to be someone else. I pray that when people see me they see Christ. I know I do a poor job of it but that is my prayer. And maybe more people will begin to do the same as a result.

5 thoughts on “Perception not always reality

  1. I pray that I am better than my perception. I want to be more for Christ than ever before. I want to lead young people to a better understanding of Christ and how they should live their lives. I fell miserably doing all that I should be doing. I want to not get caught up in all the hoopla and just live for Christ according to His Word.

  2. Mrs Eva,
    I appreciate the humility but understand from my perspective, you emulate Christ in a way that many people have failed to do. I know I have always enjoyed and appreciated your availability and willingness to listen to my random thoughts on things. That is something I believe Christians have failed to do enough of. Listen.

  3. Ryan,
    I am deeply and humbly touched. Thanks for sharing and challenging me! I pray you always know I am there for you and Charity anytime. Love you!

Leave a Reply

