christmas past, christmas present, and christmas to be: part II


today was the day that i used to long for until the age of 22. you see 22 is where i am and it is a very interesting place to be. you think you know everything. think you are responsible. and think that christmas just is not the same as it used to be. today was completely different than any before. if you do not know i am engaged. i will be married this time next year. therefore, this makes this christmas the last under my parentals roof. the last time i will travel to grandmas with my family. the last time i will have to wait till 9:00 to get out of the room that my siblings and i sleep in every christmas eve. the last time. 

today was special for me. i looked at christmas completely different. i found the most joy and excitement in the time i spent with my family. not the clothes that i wanted. not the new shoes. not the lack of a macbook under my tree. none of those things mattered. i ate eggs and bacon while washing it down with the sweetness of chocolate milk. i then proceeded to open the gifts my parents, i mean santa clause gave me. after we were finished around our house we traveled to my nannys house where we ate lunch and once again opened gifts. this next sentence will prove to you that i did not enjoy christmas because of the gifts i received. my nanny gave me a bag that weighed at least thirty pounds no lie. i would be lying if i said that i was not excited. then i opened and what to my wondering eyes should appear but 3 bottles of shampoo, 6 bottles of body wash, and hair gel. merry christmas everyone!!! 0i did not care though, i just laughed. i eventually went to my fiances house and talked with her family about their christmas. i know you have read this and wondered to yourself what i could have really found to be so special. there was no great gift or anything dynamic but i soaked every moment of this christmas and the time i had with my family. i pray that i take this mentality into more things in my life. i hope and pray that you had a good christmas. and as a good friend of mine is saying “Happy Christmas”

Leave a Reply

